Asma Jahangir’s Independent group’s nominees clean swept SCBA elections 2017-18

Asma Jahangir’s Independent group’s nominees clean swept the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) elections 2017-18 while defeating ruling Hamid Khan-led Professional group.

According to unofficial results, Jahangir’s nominee Syed Muhammad Kaleem Ahmed Khursheed securing 1142 votes was elected as President of the top Bar, whereas Safdar Hussain Tarar of the same group got 1372 votes and elected General Secretary of SCBA.

While Hafiz Abdul Rehman Ansari nominated by the Hamid Khan group securing 1064 votes remained a runner-up candidate for the seat of president however its Mian Muhammad Aslam for the seat of General Secretary could secure only 763 votes.

The polling started at 9:00 am and continued till 5:00 pm without any interval.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *