Babar Azam joins Kakul camp as Pakistan players sweat it out on day three

In Sports
March 29, 2024

The Pakistani cricketers are currently engaged in a fitness camp at the Army School of Physical Training (ASPT), where they are undergoing various training routines and gym exercises. This camp, attended by 29 players, commenced on March 26 and is set to conclude on April 8. Its primary aim is to prepare the national cricket team for upcoming bilateral series and the ICC T20 World Cup.

The training regimen has been intensifying as the camp progresses. After starting with a two-kilometer run earlier in the week, the trainers increased the challenge by organizing an eight-kilometer run for the players on Thursday. Despite fasting during Ramadan, the players engage in some light training at 4 pm, followed by a more rigorous session after Iftar.

Babar Azam, who had been absent, joined the camp directly after the Thursday evening training session upon his arrival at the Kakul Academy. Similarly, Naseem Shah and Iftikhar Ahmed, who had been on an Umrah pilgrimage with Babar, have also resumed their training.

However, not all players have been able to fully participate due to injury concerns. Imad Wasim, who missed Wednesday’s training, also refrained from participating in Thursday’s run due to potential injury concerns. He, along with Fakhar Zaman and Haris Rauf, who are in the process of recovering from injuries, have been placed in the rehabilitation group.

In between training sessions, players also found time to engage in some recreational activities, such as playing badminton. Teams were formed, with Shaheen Afridi and Mohammad Haris pairing up against Naseem Shah and Abbas Afridi for some friendly competition.

PLAYERS IN THE CAMP: Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Sahibzada Farhan, Haseebullah, Saud Shakeel, Us­man Khan, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Irfan Khan Niazi, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Usama Mir, Mohammad Nawaz, Mehran Mumtaz, Abrar Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Ali, Zaman Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Aamir Jamal, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Amir.

Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.