Election Commission to finalize names of CMs for Balochistan and Punjab

The parliamentary committees of Punjab and Balochistan on Wednesday failed to reach a consensus on selecting the caretaker chief minister for their respective provinces.

Outgoing opposition leader in Punjab Assembly Mian Mahmoodur Rasheed blamed the PML-N’s “inflexibility” for the lack of consensus while outgoing provincial government’s spokesperson Malik Ahmed Khan claimed the names submitted by the opposition were controversial and had a bias against the PML-N.

Read Also: SC ordered candidates to submit an affidavit with missing information in nominations papers

Earlier, chief minister Shahbaz Sharif had nominated retired Admiral Mohammad Zakaullah and retired Justice Mohammad Sair Ali, whereas, Mahmoodur Rasheed had proposed Prof Hasan Askari Rizvi and Ayaz Amir for the post.

The same four names will now be sent to the ECP which will choose one man from among them to become the caretaker chief minister of Punjab.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *