Newly elected members of NA took oath during the first session

ISLAMABAD (PAK TIMES): The first session of 15th National Assembly of Pakistan begins on Monday as 331 elected members of the lower house of the parliament took oath after the general elections held on July 25.

Outgoing speaker of the National Assembly Mr. Ayaz Sadiq is presiding over the historic session of NA and administered the oath to the newly-elected MNAs in the 342-member house.

The session has begun with the MNAs-elect standing up for the national anthem and was followed by the recitation of the Holy Quran.

After that, the speaker of the house then read out the process for the election of the new speaker and deputy speaker.

He then administered the oath to the MNAs-elect following which they signed the roll of members in alphabetical order.

Prime Minister-in-waiting Imran Khan, PML-N president Shahbaz Sharif, PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari, Shireen Mazari, Asad Umer, Pervez Khattak, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Munazza Hassan, Shah Mehmood Qureshi among others are attending the first session of the revamped House.

Strict security arrangements have been made for the first session as at least a thousand security officers have been deployed in and outside the building of the parliament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.