A public holiday has been announced on July 25 – the day of general elections in the country.

Chief election commissioner Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan has approved the public holiday on July 25 during a meeting today.

A total number of 11,855 candidates will run for the 849 general seats of National Assembly and four provincial assemblies.

Read Also: Only MMA has the capability to provide honest leadership

This includes a total of 3,459 candidates — 1,623 from Punjab, 824 from Sindh, 725 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and 287 from Balochistan. They will contest for the 272 general seats of the National Assembly. The National Assembly – the lower house of the parliament in Pakistan’s democratic system consists of 342 members, of which 272 are directly elected, 60 seats are reserved for women and 10 are open to religious minorities. A political party needs at least 172 seats of a simple majority to form a government at the national level and has the right to select a prime minister.

The ECP says a total of 8,396 are running for 577 general seats of the four provincial assemblies.

Read More