Refugees from 11 countries to face additional US barriers

US President Donald Trump’s ban on refugees entering the country is no longer in effect and the administration will implement a procedure involving greater scrutiny of applications, a State Department official said.

“The suspension of processing refugees ends today, October 24,” Efe news quoted the State Department official as saying on Tuesday on condition of anonymity.

The refugees from 11 unidentified countries will only be allowed into the country under exceptional circumstances for the next 90 days, while the US government conducts a review of those nations.

The measures “are designed to intensify screening in order to keep nefarious and fraudulent actors from exploiting the refugee process to enter the United States. The measures come at the end of a 120-day ‘pause’ on refugee resettlement, while the United States government conducted a thorough review of the existing programme”, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) said in a statement.

“The security of the American people is this administration’s highest priority and these improved vetting measures are essential for American security,” said Acting Secretary of Homeland Security Elaine Duke.

“These new, standardized screening measures provide an opportunity for the United States to welcome those in need into our country while ensuring a safer, more secure homeland.”

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *