Sadiq Sanjrani elected as Chairman Senate

Sadiq Sanjrani, an independent senator from Balochistan and having the support of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), has been elected the Senate chairman on Monday.

Sajid Sanjrani secured 57 votes and PML-N backed Raja Zafarul Haq secured 46 votes in Senate elections.

As many as 103 senators elected through a secret ballot.

The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and its allies National Party (NP), Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP), PML-Functional and Awami National Party had fielded PML-N’s Raja Zafarul Haq as chairman and PkMAP’s Usman Kakar as deputy chairman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *