Seven elected unopposed senators from Balochistan

In Local
March 29, 2024



Treasury and opposition parties in Balochistan reached consensus on Thursday on the unopposed election of seven candidates, contesting on the general seats of the Senate, and continued their further talks for the uncontested election on the women and technocrat seats.

Those elected unopposed are former caretaker prime minister Anwarul Haq Kakar; Awami National Party (ANP) leader Aimal Wali Khan, Syedal Khan Nasar, Shahzaib Durrani of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N); Sardar Omar Gorgaij of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Jan Muhammad Buledi of the National Party (NP), and Ahmed Khan Khilji of the Jamiat ul Ulema e Islam-Fazl (JUI-F).

Kakar’s candidature was supported by the Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) and the JUI-F, while the PPP decision-makers, in a gesture of goodwill and cross-party collaboration, opted for the election of Aimal Wali Khan as senator.

 Read PTI to take ‘oath of loyalty’ from MPs for Senate polls

The unopposed election of senators from Balochistan underscores the concerted efforts and consensus among political parties in the Balochistan Assembly.

This move aims at ensuring effective representation of the province in the legislative processes.

Efforts were now under way to replicate this model for the election on women and technocrat seats from Balochistan. Political leaders are engaged in talks in the spirit of unity, fostering conducive environment for the advancement of democratic ideals and governance in the province.

Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.