Shehbaz Sharif likely to contest elections in NA-192

DERA GHAZI KHAN: The Leghari group of the PML-N on behalf of party president Shahbaz Sharif obtained nomination papers for NA-192.

The PML-N considers it a suitable constituency for the party head. In the 2013 general election, Shahbaz Sharif had contested provincial assembly election from PP-247 of Rajanpur on the offer by Jafar Khan Leghari and Sher Ali Gorchani.

Read Also: Pakistan is facing financial emergency due to corruption

During the election campaign, mostly steered by the Leghari tribal elder Jafar Khan Leghari, Shahbaz Sharif had bagged 55,555 votes against independent candidate Hasnain Bahadur Dareshak who got 35,000 votes. Shahbaz Sharif vacated the seat and in the by-election, Ali Raza Dareshak of the PTI defeated PML-N’s Abdul Qadir Mamdot.

Dera Ghazi Khan and Rajanpur are considered suitable places for non-resident electable and the local feudal hold the sway. But this time around social media has generated interest among people especially youngsters and this can change the scene.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *