Two PPP leaders from South Punjab announced to join PTI

ISLAMABAD: Two more leaders from Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) on Wednesday announced to join Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

A veteran politician and former PPP minister Mohammad Moazim Jatoi from Muzaffargarh besides Amir Yar Waran from Bahawalpur are two senior PPP leaders from South Punjab who announced to join PTI yesterday.

Jatoi represents NA-179 and contested the 2013 general elections on a PPP ticket and managed to secure 73,199 votes against the winning candidate of PML-N’s Makhdoomzada S B A Sultan, who obtained 110,197 votes.

However, he had won this NA seat in 2008 general elections after defeating the Pakistan Muslim League-Q (PML-Q)’s Makhdoomzada Syed Basit Ahmed Sultan by a margin of more than 19,000 votes.

Another former PPP lawmaker from South-Punjab’s Bahawalpur, Amir Yar Waran defected to PTI. Although he was disqualified in 2010 by the Lahore High Court (LHC) on ground of having a fake degree but belongs to an influential family which has a good hold on politics in the rural areas of Bahawalpur.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *