UK adds seven new countries to travel advisory ‘black list’

In Local
April 13, 2024

The United Kingdom has added seven new countries to a list of countries declared extremely dangerous for travel, according to an advisory issued by the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO).

The countries were added to the ‘black list’. The new additions to the list are Russia, Ukraine, Iran, Sudan, Lebanon, Israel, Belarus, and the Palestinian territories.

The total number of ‘banned’ countries and regions now stands at 24.

Pakistan was added to the ‘red list’ in January this year. The list, which advises against travel to the listed destination, also includes India, Bangladesh, Egypt, Malaysia, Indonesia and others. 

Read also: US travel advisory urges caution during Pak polls

The FCDO said in a statement that these countries were included in the list based on crime, war, terrorism, disease, extreme weather, natural disasters and potential threats to tourists.

“British nationals are advised to only travel to these countries if absolutely necessary, to take all necessary precautions and to give advance notice before departure,” it added.

Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.