Voting has begun to elect 13th president of Pakistan

The voting has begun in the assemblies to elect the 13th president of Pakistan in a three-way contest as the ruling party candidate, Dr Arif Alvi, is assured an easy win owing to the failure of the opposition parties to field a joint candidate for the president slot. 

The polling to elect the president began at 10:00 am and will continue without break till 4:00 pm. Mem of the both house of Parliament and four provincial assemblies will cast their votes in the presidential election.

Read Also: PM Imran Khan decided to expand Federal Cabinet after the presidential election

Two polling booths have been set up in the National Assembly as Chief Election Commissioner Sardar Raza and Islamabad High Court Chief Justice Anwar Kasi are discharging their responsibilities as returning officer and presiding officer, respectively.

The polling has also begun at the Sindh, Punjab and KP assemblies where the chief justices of the respective high courts of the provinces have been appointed as presiding officers.

As many as 1,121 members of the assemblies will cast their votes in the presidential election to the top constitutional office of president.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is most likely to take the Presidency as it has the highest number of party votes in the electoral college for the election.

The ruling party has pitched Dr Arif Alvi who faces Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman, fielded by the opposition parties led by the Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N), and the Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) presidential candidate Barrister Aitzaz Ahsan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.