Voting for the NA-154 by-elections underway in Lodhran

Voting for the NA-154 by-elections started in Lodhran on Monday morning for the seat that had become vacant following the disqualification of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s Jahangir Tareen by the Supreme Court last year.

PPP candidate Mirza Muhammad Ali Baig, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s Ali Khan Tareen and PML-N’s Muhammad Iqbal Shah are in the running. Tehreek-i-Labaik Pakistan is supporting independent candidate Azhar Sandila. Six other candidates are also taking part in the polls, bringing the total number of candidates to 10.

Read Also: Imran Khan invited Chaudhry Nisar to join PTI

A total of 388 polling stations and 1,043 polling booths have been set up to cater to the 431,000-strong population of the region. Army personnel has been deployed at every polling station on the Election Commission of Pakistan’s (ECP) request.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *