Voting underway to elect Senate Chairman and Deputy Chairman

As many as 103 senators are voting to elect a new chairman and deputy chairman through a secret ballot on Monday.

The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and its allies National Party (NP), Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP), PML-Functional and Awami National Party have agreed on PML-N’s Raja Zafarul Haq as chairman and PkMAP’s Usman Kakar as deputy chairman.

Read Also: SC summoned Dar in a case pertaining to approving nomination papers for Senate elections

On the other hand, the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) have rallied behind Sadiq Sanjrani, an independent senator from Balochistan, for chairman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *